Super Sunday as four titles won at Leamington

Four competitions came to a conclusion on Sunday at the Bowls England national championships at Leamington spa.

Oxfordshire’s Paul Comley & Colin Whitehead won the Men’s Senior Pairs Competition, supported by the Friends of English Bowling, after defeating Cornwall’s Ronnie Thomas and Kevin Williams 24-7 in the final.

Victory for Oxfordshire ensured that Whitehead joins a distinguished group of people to have won both the Men’s Senior Singles and Senior Pairs, following his success in the Men’s Senior Singles in 2010.

In the semi-finals, Thomas and Williams defeated 2016 champions John Bell and Rick Gallagher from Cumbria by one shot, with Comley and Whitehead securing a 24-10 victory over Neil Farnish and David Simpson from Buckinghamshire.

Oxfordshire (Paul Comley & Colin Whitehead) bt Buckinghamshire (Neil Farnish & David Simpson) 24-10;
Cornwall (Ronnie Thomas & Kevin Williams) bt Cumbria (John Bell & Rick Gallagher) 18-17

Oxfordshire (Paul Comley & Colin Whitehead) bt Cornwall (Ronnie Thomas & Kevin Williams) 24-7

Norfolk’s Danny Mills won the 2018 Men’s National Junior Singles Championship, supported by David Mitchell-Gears MBE

The County Arts bowler defeated Lancashire’s Anthony Booth-Young, from Bolton FGBC.

Mills trailed 4-9 in the early exchanges, before a really good period of play saw him lead 16-12. Booth-Young then fought back and regained the lead at 18-17, before Mills picked up a full count of four to secure a 21-18 victory.

In the semi-final, Booth-Young secured a 21-19 victory over Berkshire’s Lloyd Sabatini. Trailing 9-17 and 12-19, Booth-Young then won seven consecutive ends to reach the final, whilst Mills defeated Suffolk’s Lee Calver 21-8 in a battle of the two East Anglian rivals.

Neither Lancashire nor Norfolk had had representation in the Men’s Junior Singles Final for almost a decade. Norfolk were last present in the 2009 final when Jamie Chestney defeated Huntingdonshire’s Tristan Morton, whilst Mark Dawes reached both the 2005 and 2006 final for Lancashire – defeating Sussex’s Stuart Holland in 2005 and losing to Hertfordshire’s Matt Coppen the following year.

Lloyd Sabatini (Reading, Berks) bt Jaxon McKenna (Silksworth, Durham) 21-14;
Anthony Booth-Young (Bolton, Lancs) bt Lewis Baxter (Wigton, Cumb) 21-16;
Danny Mills (County Arts, N’folk) bt Danny Smith (Southsea Waverley, Hants) 21-14;
Lee Calver (Felixstowe & Suffolk, S’folk) bt Glen Adams (Hendon, M’sex) 21-18

Anthony Booth-Young (Bolton, Lancs) bt Lloyd Sabatini (Reading, Berks) 21-19
Danny Mills (County Arts, N’folk) bt Lee Calver (Felixstowe & Suffolk, S’folk) 21-8

Danny Mills (County Arts, N’folk) bt Anthony Booth-Young (Bolton, Lancs) 21-19

Sussex won the Walker Cup for the first time, after emphatically defeating Yorkshire 52-15 in the final.

Yorkshire defeated Cambridgeshire by one shot in the semi-final, whilst Sussex reached the final with victory over holders Somerset.

Sussex were competing in only their first final, whilst Yorkshire had been in two finals previously – runners-up to Somerset in 1970 and defeating Dorset in the final in 1997.

Yorkshire bt Cambridgeshire 44-43
Rink scores (Yorkshire skips first): M Dowson bt E Falkner 26-11; L Metcalfe lost to J Stephens 18-32;

Sussex bt Somerset 41-33
Rink scores (Sussex skips first): L Kuhler bt K Hembrow 28-9; R Mackriell lost to S Branfield 13-24;

Sussex bt Yorkshire 52-15
Rink scores (Sussex skips first): L Kuhler bt M Dowson 27-6; R Mackriell bt L Metcalfe 25-9;

Hertfordshire’s Devon Cooper and Rachel Tremlett won the Women’s Junior Pairs Championship, supported by Marion Bushnell.

They defeated Wiltshire sisters Katy and Lucy Smith 16-11 in the final.

In the semi-finals, the Smith sisters defeated twin sisters Rachel and Vicky Forster from Cumbria, whilst Cooper and Tremlett beat Lincolnshire’s Ruby Hill and Chelsea Tomlin.

Cumbria (Rachel Forster and Victoria Forster) bt Bedfordshire (Keeley Appleby and Robyn Hall) 19-13;
Wiltshire (Katy Smith and Lucy Smith) bt Northamptonshire (Shannon Swift and Louise Haladij) 19-15;
Hertfordshire (Devon Cooper and Rachel Tremlett) bt Sussex (Hannah Maslen and Kira Donno) 24-9
Lincolnshire (Ruby Hill and Chelsea Tomlin) bt Essex (Jasmine Wilson and Stacey Fryer) 14-13;

Wiltshire (Katy Smith and Lucy Smith) bt Cumbria (Rachel Forster and Victoria Forster) 18-11;
Hertfordshire (Devon Cooper and Rachel Tremlett) bt Lincolnshire (Ruby Hill and Chelsea Tomlin) 15-10

Hertfordshire (Devon Cooper and Rachel Tremlett) bt Wiltshire (Katy Smith and Lucy Smith) 16-11

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.