Three new caps and seven recalls as Bowls England senior teams announced

A total of three new caps and seven recalls make up the Bowls England women’s and men’s senior international teams.

Hertfordshire’s Devon Cooper has been called up to the Bowls England team for the BIWBC International Series that will take place at Victoria Park, Royal Leamington Spa from Sunday 14th to Tuesday 16th June 2020.

Cooper is the sole new cap into the team, which features three recalls – Annalisa Dunham (Lincolnshire), Katherine Rednall (Norfolk) and Rebecca Willgress (Norfolk)

Selected Team:
Devon Cooper (Hertfordshire), Amy Walters (Worcestershire), Stef Branfield (Somerset) & Amy Gowshall (Lincolnshire);
Sophie Tolchard (Devon), Rachel Tremlett (Hertfordshire), Rebecca Wigfield (Northamptonshire) & Ellen Falkner (Cambridgeshire);
Laura Holden (Somerset), Harriet Stevens (Devon), Debbie Seward (Surrey) & Lorraine Kuhler (Sussex);
Jamie-Lea Winch (Leicestershire), Margaret Smith (Surrey), Michelle Coleman (Huntingdonshire) & Sian Honnor (Kent);
Rebecca Willgress (Norfolk), Katherine Rednall (Norfolk), Katherine Hawes (Oxfordshire) & Natalie Chestney (Devon);

Emma Cooper (Devon), Vicky Bayliss (Buckinghamshire), Annalisa Dunham (Lincolnshire) & Wendy King (Kent)

Reserves listed in Alphabetical Order (will be notified if required to travel):
Amy Banes (Kent); Jessica Eley (Hertfordshire); Kirsty Hembrow (Somerset); Kirsty Richards (Warwickshire); Penny Strong (Lincolnshire)

Captain: Sian Honnor
Team Manager: TBA

In the men’s team, Bowls England has named two new caps and four recalls in its team to play in the BIBC International Series at Llandrindod Wells Bowls Club, Wales on Saturday 27th June and Sunday 28th June 2020.

The new faces are Leicestershire’s Joe Dawson and Kent’s Roger Kendrick.

Dawson reached the semi-final of the Men’s National Singles Championship last month, narrowly losing out to Northamptonshire’s Jamie Walker, whilst Kendrick skipped his VCD clubmate Jason Haskins to success in the Men’s Pairs Championship.

The duo will be joined in Wales by Andrew Knapper (Berkshire) and Edward Morris (Essex) who both enjoyed Championship victories at Victoria Park with Knapper securing the Triples Championship and Morris lifting the prestigious Singles Championship.

Devon’s Jamie Chestney and Wiltshire’s Graham Shadwell have also received recalls to the 24-man team.

Selected Team:
Lee Haywood (Devon), Harry Goodwin (Devon), Chris Yeomans (Northumberland) & Joe Dawson (Leicestershire);
Oliver Lucas (Devon), David Forster (Cumbria), Andrew Walters (Worcestershire) & Tristan Morton (Huntingdonshire);
Ashley Clipston (Derbyshire), Mark Read (Cornwall), Edward Morris (Essex) & Sam Tolchard (Devon);
Steve Mitchinson (Essex), Andrew Knapper (Berkshire), Louis Ridout (Devon) & Jamie Chestney (Devon);
Glen Adams (Middlesex), Roger Kendrick (Kent), Robert Paxton (Devon) & Nick Brett (Huntingdonshire);
John Rednall (Suffolk), Taylor Monk (Kent), Graham Shadwell (Wiltshire) & Jamie Walker (Northamptonshire)

Reserves listed in Alphabetical Order (will be notified if required to travel):
Chris Gale (Lancashire); Ian Lesley (Devon); Perry Martin (Kent); John McGuinness (Buckinghamshire)

Captain: Sam Tolchard (Devon)
Team Manager: TBA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.