Adams, Morris and Pitt win Bowls England 2019 Men’s Bowler of the Year awards

The Bowls England 2019 Men’s Bowler of the Year awards were announced this evening at the men’s annual prize giving in Coventry.

The Junior Bowler of the Year award, sponsored by Bowls International, was collected by Glen Adams of Hendon BC, Middlesex.

Adams enjoyed a successful National Championships, securing the Men’s Junior Pairs title with his county compatriot, Alfie Hill, as well as reaching the semi-final of the Junior Singles. Adams made his debut in the England senior International team in June and is also a member of the junior international team.

Also nominated were: Harry Goodwin (Kings BC, Devon)
Tom McGuinness (Gerrards Cross BC, Buckinghamshire)
Michael Titcombe (Westlecot BC, Wiltshire)
Scott Winskill (Tilehurst BC, Berkshire)

The Senior Bowler of the Year award, sponsored by Bowls International, went to David Pitt of Masonian BC, Middlesex.

The Middlesex player enjoyed an incredible run in the Men’s Champion of Champions, before losing out to Sam Tolchard in the final.

Pitt secured notable victories over many national champions and international stars of the sport including Andrew Knapper, Graham Ashby, Chris Rodgers and Roger Kendrick to reach the final. Pitt also qualified for the National Championships in the Senior Pairs, losing out to eventual winners Dave Labrum and Malc Drage from Buckinghamshire.

Also shortlisted were: Neil Farnish (Gerrards Cross BC, Buckinghamshire)
Mark Hancock (Tilehurst BC, Berkshire)
Rob Honeywell (Kings BC, Devon)
David Pitt (Masonian BC, Middlesex)
John Rednall (Felixstowe & Suffolk BC, Suffolk)

The Bowler of the Year award, sponsored by Taylor Bowls, went to Ed Morris of Essex City & County BC, Essex.

Morris made a comeback in the final of the National Singles against Jamie Walker to lift the coveted title after being 8-13 down. The win means the Essex player joins an elite trio of bowlers to have won both the Men’s Two-Wood and Singles titles, following his win in the former in 2018.

Morris skipped a four that reached the semi-final of the National Fours and lost out at the semi-final stage of the Mixed Pairs with Elaine Score. Morris skipped a Balcomb Trophy rink that lost in the final to Warwickshire.

Also shortlisted were

Roger Kendrick (VCD BC, Kent)
Andrew Knapper (Tilehurst BC, Berkshire)

John McGuinness (Gerrards Cross BC, Buckinghamshire)
Louis Ridout (Kings BC, Devon)
Sam Tolchard (Kings BC, Devon)
Jamie Walker (Northampton West End BC, Northamptonshire)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.