- Advertisement -


The Murray River border town of Moama will once again be the site for some of the most pulsating and electrifying bowls on the planet as the 19th edition of the Bowls Premier League (writes Val Febbo, Bowls Australia).

Within the sensational Moama Bowling Club, the ten franchises will battle it out and among the players are a combined 16 champions at the competition.

After conquering the tournament for a record equalling fourth time in November, the Tweed Heads Ospreys (pictured) will again bring an unchanged lineup to the field, with reigning MVP and five-time champion Aaron Teys teaming up with Corey Wedlock and Chloe Stewart under the tutelage of Wayne Turley OAM.

After falling short to the imperious Ospreys in the BPL18 decider, the Melbourne eXtreme will make one change to its squad for another tilt at the crown as former MVP runner-up Ray Pearse comes in for the ill Ali Forsyth to join Matt Flapper and reigning All Star team member Kylie Whitehead.

Kelvin Kerkow returns as coach of the Club Sunbury franchise.

The Kevin Anderson coached Moama Steamers looked ominous all the way through November’s edition before falling short at the penultimate hurdle, but will be out for revenge on their home patch.

Six-time MVP and five-time champion Aron Sherriff headlines the unchanged outfit alongside franchise stalwart Ryan Bester and Right at Home Jackaroos teammate Cassandra Millerick.

The Adelaide Pioneers overcame significant adversity throughout the last campaign with Scott Thulborn taking ill half way through the event, with Nathan Black stepping in to help steer the squad to an unlikely finals appearance.

Thulborn returns in place of Black alongside Wayne Ruediger and Katelyn Inch, with Les Carter on board as coach once again as the team looks to end the South Australian hoodoo at the tournament.

After returning to the finals for the first time since returning to the event, the Gold Coast Hawks will look to build on what was a scintillating showing in November.

Under the guidance of Mark Thatcher, the likes of Kelsey Cottrell, Brett Wilkie and Nathan Rice return as the Hawks strive to make the BPL19 journey an extended one.

The Sydney Lions missed out on finals by a solitary set point three months ago and will aim to return to the Friday night action as Karen Murphy comes back into the squad to replace Dawn Hayman to her BPL14 title winning teammates in re-join Ben Twist and Aaron Wilson with Steve Glasson OAM as coach once again.

In the biggest team shake up of the tournament, the Moreton Bay Pirates venture to the Murray with two playing changes and a new coach.

Taking the leadership mantle is Ellen Falkner MBE, who played for the team at BPL14, with Ryan Burnett stepping into a playing role having coached the squad for two events.

Dawn Hayman also comes into the team to replace Jo Edwards, while Scottish superstar Alex Marshall MBE assumes his place in the maroon lineup once again.

Following a heartbreaking conclusion to BPL18, the Tasmania Tridents will be hungry to add to a solitary finals appearance since entering the tournament.

Mark Strochnetter remains on as coach with Rebecca Van Asch and Rob McMullen returning from November’s trio, while foundation team member Taelyn Male comes back into the team for Michael Sims.

Two-time champions the Melbourne Pulse endured a tough campaign at Pine Rivers, but will look to bounce back with the ever consistent lineup of Gary KellyBarrie Lester and Ellen Ryan it will be hard to go past them as a contender.

Jeremy Henry returns to coach the team.

Making one change to their BPL18 lineup is the Perth Suns, who bring World Champion Carl Healey into the team for Cody Packer to join Kristina Krstic and Blake Nairn in Bill Brandsma’s squad.

BPL19 runs from February 19-23, 2024, at the Moama Bowling Club with live streaming on Bowls Australia’s Facebook page and YouTube channel, as well as live broadcasts from Tuesday to Friday from 4pm until 10pm AEDT on Fox, Kayo and Sky Sports NZ.

Credit photo: Bowls Australia