- Advertisement -


We have another bumper issue of successful applicants which includes a second silver badge for Mick Gault OBE who we featured previously winning his first hot shot. Mick represented England at six Commonwealth Games in various shooting events winning an incredible 18 medals – nine of which were gold! Mick’s Commonwealth achievement is a record for athletes in any sport.

Belfast IBC member John McIlwrath celebrated his 80th birthday by gaining a hot shot with Maurice McKeown, while Peter Leaton, who had an eight in a match at Stamford IBC with Jeff Pitt, is 83!

Other winners include Bob Henstridge a former Disability Bowls England ambassador for Sussex who played for DBE in 2015 and 2016. For the last three years, he has played with a bowling arm.

Tye Green’s T Rowland, M Jones, C Carey and B Morgan were high scorers in their hot shot winning match claiming a six, seven and an eight, while at Banister Park BC, Joanna Jones’s first ever hot shot with Jenny Phillps and Pauline Mathews was made even sweeter she says because it was against of all people her husband!

Meanwhile, at Exonia BC, a full house on one end for Sandra Al-Kordi and Lynda Henning played a big part in Lynda winning the trophy for the leading lady at the end of the season.

The Bowls International Hot Shots Club is as popular as ever and famous throughout the bowls playing world.

It was launched more than 20 years ago to reward players achieving a maximum score on one end of a competitive match and remains as popular as ever.

Certificates recognising the feat and signed by 15 times world champion Tony Allcock OBE take pride of place in the clubs and homes of bowlers all over the globe.

Different coloured bowls stickers are also available to highlight the achievement of becoming a member of the world’s largest and most exclusive bowls club.

Apart from having your names recognised in print and featured on our websitewww.bowlsinternational.com, why not send in a picture as well of the successful pair, triple or four, along with some interesting and relevant details about your claim.

You can provide a few details on the entry form that is featured in this supplement and email your photos to hotshots@bowlsinternational.com

Happy bowling and good luck!



Bedford Park BC: Alison Harding, Jenny Dunkley, Wayne Stevens


Desborough BC: Roy Palmer, Roland Dreesden, Sam Stack, Nicola Jones

Riverside IBC: Sally Darby, Khalila Hussain


Cambs Ladies BA: Barbara Batton, Anita Bradley, Di Griggs, Sally Token

Huntingdon IBC: Bridget Barker, Anita Bradley, Theresa Watkins, Gill Burgess


Penlee (Newlyn) BC: Heather Burt, Gillian Waters, Stephen Goddard, John Thomas


Alfreton IBC: Pat Whitehouse, Kath Kirkham, Bill Kirkham


Exonia BC: Sandra Al-Kordi, Lynda Henning

Tiverton West End BC: Basil Husbands, Martin Stevens, Christine Slade, Bob French

Torbay Area IBA: Hazel Story, Yvonne Batchelor, Rosella Allodi, Michael Story


Charlton Marshall SMBC: Gill Bridge, Sylvia Pink, Alan North

Charlton Marshall SMBC: Phil Charlston, Pete Coombes, Dave Bridge


Denton Island IBC: Ann White, Keith Brain, Bob Henstridge

Wealden BC: Pauline Phillips, Sandra Sharp, Jenny Forrest, Susan Bray


Croydon Bowls and Sports Club: Maggie Bennet, Jack Martin, Roy Bishop

Essex County BC: Malcolm Hancock, Barbara Clements, Rosie Honey, Allan Peterson

Tye Green IBC: Matthew Murphy, Tony Sirrell, Michael Whyley, Gary Medler

Tye Green IBC: T Rowland, M Jones, C Carey, B Morgan


Cotswold BC: Alistair Coles, Lee Elliott, James Gardiner


Banister Park BC: Michael Rehorn, Sheila Rehorn, Dave-Lee Rehorn

Banister Park BC: Jenny Phillps, Joanna Jones, Pauline Mathews

Fareham BC: Derek Powell, Alan Sharp, Keith Young, Bob Scottow

Hook BC: Desiree Gow, Stan Goddard, Steve Potts, Martin Nurser

Leigh Park BC: Janice Sansom, Peter Robinson, Carter Blandford

Victory IBC: Brian Newell, Melvyn Dunbar, Andrew Hibberd, Roger Bell


Herts IBC: Betty Stewart, Avril Harland, Lois Hall

Ilford and District IBC: Sandy Dron, Dave Garlick, Sally Garlick, Tony Seago

Ilford and District IBC: Janet Doe, Colin Doe, Roy Jones, Mike Barron

Ilford and District IBC: Keith Coe, Brian Yershon, Mike Abbott, Tony Golding

Riverain IBC: John Farley, Richard Thorpe, Richard Hayes, Colin Cole

Stevenage and District Senior Citizens IBC: Alyson Thompson, Robert King

Stevenage and District Senior Citizens


IBC: Rhona McRae, Ann Collis, Paul Collis


Shanklin BC: Mary Trueman, Tony Coleman, Mick Hayden, Gill Gambling


Ashford IBC: Sally Attree, Peter Atkins, Pete Burgess, Roy Attree

Ashford IBC: Sally Attree, Don Knight, Roy Attree

Bromley IBC: Paul Gallagher, Edward Allen, Dave Cornish

Bromley IBC: C Andrews, J Poulton, R Poulton

Bromley IBC: Rosemary Madgwick, Brenda Fathers, Angela Nutten, Jean Kemp

Sevenoaks IBC: Gerry Waghorn, Steve Hoskin, Richard Phillips


Charnwood IBC: Phil Beaken, Rhys Taylor

Leicester IBC: William Newbold, Jackie Gibson, Sue Keyworth

Melton and District IBC: Pat Wright, David Armstrong, Colin Stacey


Lincoln IBC: Julie Phillips, Shirley Gurney, David Phillips, John Campbell

Lincoln IBC: John Campbell, Kay Campbell, Jim Thomas, Tony Barlow

Stamford IBC: Peter Leaton, Jeff Pitt


Shotford BC: Keith Warwick, Brian Rees, Michael Gault OBE, Andy Sindle

The Brecks IBC: John Sparrowhawk, Sue Clark

Wymondham Dell BC: Lionel Murfit, Cynthia Lansdell, Sandra Wright

Wymondham Dell BC: Sylvia Rogers, Christopher Kent, Derek Bloomfield


Northampton and District IBC:T Moran, P Letts, D Wilson, P Denton


Marsh Gibbon SMBC: Julie Everett, Linda Thompson, John Thompson

Oxford and District BC: Hillary Davies, June Baldwin, Alan Murdoch


Ketley Bank SMBC: D Kenderdine, M Price, L Webb, D Wall


Clarrie Dunbar IBC: Brian Peirce, Peter Whitmarsh

Milborne Port SMBC: David Bishton, Margaret Goodwin, Barbara Tindale

Milborne Port SMBC: David Bishon, Margaret Goodwin, Brian Tindale

Purnell BC: Jim Towells, Ian Williams, Tim Willcox

Purnell BC: Colin Wolstenholme, Dennis Skehan, Graham Symonds, David Chamberlain


Adur IBC: Phil Collier, Caril Burtenshaw, Chris McCarthy, Martin Jewitt

Camberley IBC: Hayley Tang, Des Sharp

Egham IBC: Lorna Tongue, Val Butler, Ann Rapley

Milford BC: Juls Howard, Daron McDermott, John Everest

Wey Valley IBC: Jenny Robbins, Zan Agnew, Peter Baigent


North Wilts IBC: Richard Buckland, Jean Buckland, John Crowder

North Wilts IBC: Sarah-Janes Hayward, Barbara Palmer, Lesley Park, Bruce Dorsey

North Wilts IBC: Richard McComb, Catherine Pike

Swindon Manor IBC: Mark Robins, Derek Richards, Tom Szumlas, David McLurgh


Harrogate IBC: Mike Eve, John Knell, Mike South

Harrogate IBC: J Bastow, C Shaw, L Tate

North Cave IBC: Graham Stephenson, Tony Taylor


Belfast IBC: John McIlwrath, Maurice McKeown

St Clares IBC: Colum McNeice, Joe Creaney, Donal Bradley,

Gabriel Brankin


Cardiff IBC: Haydn Bush, Ted Barrett, Martin Thomas, Ray Evans


Have you recently picked up a full count on one end of a competitive match? Simply complete the online form and email your photos to hotshots@bowlsinternational.com to become a member of the Hot Shots Club.

Bowls International is the World’s No.1 bowling magazine, established in 1981.

A six-month print subscription to Bowls International is priced at just £19.90, or a 12-month subscription is £35.99 – that’s less than £3 per month and includes FREE POSTAGE. Subscribe today to save up to 40% on the cover price


Photographed John McIlwrath (left) celebrated his 80th birthday with a hot shot at Belfast IBC with Maurice McKeown